About the Sun Life Financial Osler Global Health Program

Our Global Health program is giving us a chance to use our expertise in areas around the world while gaining insights about the patients we serve to help us improve care for our local community. It's our vision of "patient inspired care without boundaries" in action.

In 2017, the Global Health team will be focusing on:

  • Continuing to co-design improved Mental Health and Addictions services with Dayanand Medical College and Hospital (DMCH
  • Enhancing Emergency Medicine services at DMCH
  • Reaching more villagers to enhance access to care through general check-up camps with emphasis on mental health & addictions and diabetes screening and education
  • Providing training and education to nursing students and instructors at SKSS
  • Providing public health support through education and outreach to college students on mental health and addictions

This year the Global Health Program will be expanding to Pakistan and the team will have the privilege of forging new relationships and exploring specific partnership opportunities with ChildLife Foundation.

The 2017 itinerary

Thurs, March 23

Depart from Toronto

Fri, March 24

Arrive in India

Sat, March 25

Travel to Amritsar, Punjab and acclimatize to environment

Sun, March 26

Travel to Ludhiana and meet Dayanand Medical Medical College & Hospital (DMCH) team

Mon, March 27 – Wed, March 29 (morning)

DMCH: co-designing Emergency Medicine and Mental Health & Addiction programs and effective practices

Wed, March 29 (afternoon)

Outreach to school in Sarabha Village to educate the youth about Mental Health and Awareness

Thurs, March 30

Shaheed Kartar Singh Sarabha (SKSS): Provide training and education to nurses and instructors

Fri, March 31

SKSS: General Check-up  camp with emphasis on Mental Health & Addictions

Sat, April 1

SKSS: Diabetes Education and Screening camp

Sun, April 2

Travel to Delhi  

Mon, April 3

Day trip to Taj Mahal

Tues, April 4

Travel to Karachi, Pakistan

Wed, April 5

ChildLife: Introductions and visit outreach clinic

Thurs, April 6

ChildLife:- Visit hospital and discuss specific opportunities for collaboration

Fri, Apr 7

Depart from Karachi


Related Information

Resource Center

Helpful links to the most useful lists and forms for health professionals.

Latest Tweets